Select Page

Category: Speakers

Richard Weinshilboum, M.D.

Dr. Weinshilboum received B.A. and M.D. degrees from the University of Kansas, followed by residency training in Internal Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, a Harvard teaching hospital. He was also a Pharmacology Research Associate at the NIH in the laboratory of Nobel Laureate Dr. Julius Axelrod. He is presently Professor of Pharmacology and Medicine and Dasburg Professor of Cancer Genomics Research at the Mayo Clinic and he co-directs the Pharmacogenomics Program of the Mayo Center for Individualized Medicine with his faculty colleague, Dr. Liewei Wang, MD-PhD. Dr. Weinshilboum’s research has focused on pharmacogenomics, with over 460 peer-reviewed manuscripts and an emphasis in recent decades on the application of genome-wide genomics and other “omics” techniques to study variation in drug response–especially the drug therapy of depression. He has served on the National Advisory Councils for two NIH Institutes, the National Institute for General Medical Sciences and the National Human Genome Research Institute.

Ellen Frank, PhD

Ellen Frank is Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and Chief Scientific Officer of HealthRhythms, Inc. Dr. Frank is internationally recognized for the development and testing of a series of somatic and psychosocial treatments for major depression and bipolar disorder. Interpersonal and social rhythm therapy (IPSRT), which she originally designed and tested as an individual outpatient treatment for adults with bipolar I disorder, has been adapted to inpatient and group settings and to the treatment of bipolar II disorder as well as to the treatment of children and adolescents. The rhythm-based theoretical model that underpins IPSRT now forms the basis for the smartphone technology that she and her HealthRhythms colleagues have developed for the monitoring of behavioral biomarkers of mood disorders and for digital intervention platforms for a range of psychiatric conditions.

An expert on mood disorders and their treatment, Dr. Frank served chair of the US Food and Drug Administration Psychopharmacologic Drugs Advisory Panel, as a member of the US National Advisory Mental Health Council and, more recently, on the Mood Disorders Workgroup of the American Psychiatric Association Task Force on DSM-5. In 1999, she was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine).

David Kupfer, MD

David J. Kupfer is Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychiatry, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. He received his bachelor’s and M.D. degrees from Yale University. Following completion of an internship, Dr. Kupfer continued his postgraduate clinical and research training at the Yale New Haven Hospital and the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). In 1970, he was appointed Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Yale University School of Medicine. Dr. Kupfer joined the faculty at the University of Pittsburgh in 1973.

From 1983 and 2009, Dr. Kupfer served as Chair of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, and Director of Research at Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic. Under Dr. Kupfer’s direction, WPIC became one of the nation’s preeminent university-based psychiatric research centers.

Dr. Kupfer’s own research has focused primarily on long-term treatment strategies for recurrent mood disorders including both psychotherapeutic and pharmacologic treatments, the pathogenesis of depression, and the relationship between biomarkers and depression. A prolific writer, Dr. Kupfer has authored or co-authored a combination of more than 1,000 articles, books, and book chapters.

Dr. Kupfer was the founding president of the International Society for Bipolar Disorders. He is internationally recognized for his role as Chair of the American Psychiatric Association Task Force for DSM-5. In recognition of his contributions to the field, Dr. Kupfer has been the recipient of numerous awards and honors including his 1990 election to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine).